Archive for April 8th, 2009

Keep Calm and . . . full circle

April 8, 2009

Y’all know about this poster, right?

domino_keepcalm
The classic sfgirlbybay edition as seen in the final issue of
Domino magazine, RIP.

kalman_keepcalm
Maira Kalman’s version from
The Principles of Uncertainty. She’s wrong about the WWII thing, sort of (more on that later).

panic_orig
Threadless typetee
‘s clever reversal (note inverted crown); the 1937 original poster hung in an old bomb shelter, apparently.

excited_graphic
Optimistic crafty homage by Matt Jones, available on 20×200; snarky, but true parody by Osborne Villas from flickr.

calendar_keepcalm
Printable 2009 calendars by etsy seller littlebrownpen, available in a version for Women and one for Men.

stampsbalm1
Rubber stamps
from Rubber Soul; lip balm from etsy seller leastlikely2breed (these should totally say keep calm and carry balm instead…)

But OK, what about these? Yikes!

policepledge_keepcalm

policingpledge
These are very very real though I think they are not intended to be quite so creepy as they come across. via BoingBoing via David Byrne!

I trace and analyze this phenomenon as best I can after the jump.

(more…)

pomme-pomme prettiness

April 8, 2009

both21

green1pink2

I wanted to have a supermodel photo shoot with the two new Blythe dresses that I just received from pomme-pomme, but I sadly haven’t had the daylight to do it. Unfortunately, these photos don’t do them justice, but I just had to share as soon as I could. They are so crazy adorable and well-made, I absolutely wish they came in my size.